Food Guide

Does Calpico/Calpis Need to be Refrigerated?

Does Calpico Need to be Refrigerated
( Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, we earn commissions from qualifying purchases at NO additional cost to the customer.)                                          

Calpico is a very sweet and mildly sour Japanese milk-based soft drink.

It is thick yogurt syrup mixed with buttermilk.

This non-carbonated drink is made from lactic acid and non-fat dairy milk that gives it a vanilla yogurt flavor.

You can enjoy Calpico on its own or also can be combined with other drinks to create exciting cocktails, milkshakes, and smoothies.

However, does Calpico need to be refrigerated?

Actually, Calpico does not need to be refrigerated before it is opened.

Once it is opened it needs refrigeration.

Read further to know more about its refrigeration time, storage, and expiration.

What is Calpico? What Calpico is Made of?

Calpico is also known as Calpis.

In Japan, it is known as ‘Calpis,’ and the name is modified to ‘Calpico’ overseas as the name can be misleading to English speakers.

This is a milk-based soft drink that is very popular in Japan.

Calpico has a history of more than 100 years and was created in 1919.

It is a Japanese milk-based soft drink alike a yogurt drink.

The flavor Calpico can be been compared to a blend of yogurt, buttermilk, and milk.

It is a non-carbonated and non-alcoholic drink that is made with milk and a sweetener.

In 1919, Calpico first hit the market and became the first beverage made with the lactic acid bacterium.

The ingredients in Calpico are Water, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Sugar, Nonfat Dry Milk (Treated with Lactic Acid Culture), Lactic Acid, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Citric Acid, Sodium Citrate, and Soy Fiber.

Basically, Calpico is water, sugar, and non-fat dairy milk treated with lactic acid culture.

Calpico contains natural and artificial flavors to create variations in flavors.

If you’ve ever visited Japan, you might have seen Calpico bottles.

It comes in the country’s iconic blue and white summertime polka-dot bottles at vending machines, convenience stores, and supermarkets.

What Does Calpico Taste Like?

Calpico is a non-carbonated Japanese soft drink known as Calpis in Japan and Calpico overseas.

It has a flavor that can be compared to a blend of yogurt, buttermilk, and milk.

This drink tastes like Yakult, the Japanese probiotic beverage.

It is mild and sweet in taste somewhat acidic, and cooling too.

This drink has the perfect balance of sweet and sour.

Lactic acid fermentation gives it a tart flavor.

It looks very smooth and hazy white.

This drink is known for its hydrating and thirst-quenching properties.

It is very popular in Japan and other Asian countries and is often consumed as a refreshing beverage, especially during hot summer days.

Calpis offered in Japan comes in a concentrated form that should be diluted with milk or water before use.

However, the concentrated form of Calpico is the original.

It is also offered as “Calpis Water” in a ready-to-drink form that has already been diluted.

There are various fruity flavors available in the concentrated form and the ready-to-drink version is strawberry, lemon, grapes, melon, etc.

Does Calpico Need to be Refrigerated?

Calpico is a well-known brand of non-carbonated, sweetened, and flavored milk-like drink that originated in Japan.

Calpico is made up of water, sugar, and non-fat dairy milk treated with lactic acid culture, and natural and artificial flavors.

The drink is known for its unique and refreshing taste.

One of the key questions that several consumers have about Calpico is whether or not it needs to be refrigerated.

The answer to this question is yes and no.

Calpico does need not to be refrigerated before it is opened.

But once it is opened it should be refrigerated.

This drink gets massive popularity within a short time during pre-war Japan as it does not need refrigeration before opening the bottle.

The opened Calpico should be refrigerated to maintain its taste and consistency. When non-refrigerated opened Calpico can become thicker and less flavorful.

The refrigeration helps to maintain the drink’s consistency and its flavor intact.

So, once it is opened, you need to refrigerate it as refrigeration helps to preserve its flavor and taste.

The Calpico can be stored at room temperature until the expiry date mentioned on the bottleneck as long as it is unopened.

It is also important to note that Calpico should be stored in a separate compartment in the refrigerator which is away from raw meat and other foods that may cause cross-contamination.

This will keep the drink as fresh as possible and lower the risk of bacterial growth.

In a nutshell, this means unopened Calpico bottles can be stored at room temperature but once opened should be refrigerated to maintain their quality and safety.

By following the simple guidelines outlined above, you can make sure that your Calpico is always fresh and delicious, and that you can enjoy it without any worries.

Does Calpico Expire? How Do You Tell if Calpico is Expired?

As Calpico has longer shelf life compared to other soft drinks as originally comes in a concentrated form.

So, it is less susceptible to spoilage.

It is indicated on the package that it does have an expiration date.

Most of the Calpico concentrate variations stay good for several months after being opened.

Eg. the original Calpico concentrate (Japanese version) has a shelf life of 9 months.

However, the shelf life can vary according to the variety of flavors and packaging.

For E.g. carbonated Calpico soda variations would start to lose their fizziness once they have been opened.

Concentrated Calpico and Calpico fruit flavors stay good up to 9 months before opening.

Ready to drink Calpico water and Calpico soda have a shelf of 6 months before opening the package.

But, how Do You Tell if Calpico is Expired?

If you check out the Calpico package, there is no expiration date on the products.

It may change its taste texture and flavor once it is expired.

Is Calpico Lactose-free?

Calpico is not lactose-free, it contains lactose as it contains non-fat dairy milk.

Lactose is a sugar found naturally in milk and dairy products, so it is present in Calpico.

So, if you are lactose-sensitive, Calpico is not for you.

But the good news is Calpico is now also available in a completely secure non-dairy, lactose-free variant.

A plant-based Calpico “Calpis Green,” that available since 2020, which is free of lactose and has no components contains derived from animals.

It contains soy milk and fermented soy milk that gives Calpico its milky flavor and taste.

So, it is safe to consume for people who are lactose intolerant.

Related Questions

Does Calpico have caffeine?

No, Calpico does not have caffeine.

Calpico is a completely caffeine-free drink.

It is a non-carbonated and sweetened drink that does not contain caffeine.

This drink is marketed as a non-alcoholic, non-carbonated, and non-caffeinated beverage.

Children can safely consume it because as it does not contain caffeine.

So, you can enjoy it any time of the day without worry.

Where to buy Calpico?

You can buy Calpico from your nearest local supermarket.

Calpico also can get it from at your convenience.

You can get it easily at your home by ordering online.

How to dilute the Calpico concentrate?

You can dilute Calpico and Calpico concentrate forms to your preferred level.

It depends on how strong the taste you want.

The recommended ratio of Calpico for this dilution is 1:4

It means when diluting with water, 1-part Calpico concentrate and 4 parts of water.

If you want to dilute with milk, the ratio would be 1:6.

It means 1 part of Calpico to the 6 parts of the milk.


Related Articles:
Does Yoohoo Need to be Refrigerated?

Does Skinny Syrup Need To be refrigerated?

Does GoGo Squeez Yogurt Need To Be Refrigerated?