Food Guide In-Depth How To Guides

Does Yoohoo Need to be Refrigerated?

Does Yoohoo Need to be Refrigerated
( Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, we earn commissions from qualifying purchases at NO additional cost to the customer.)                                          

Yoohoo is a chocolate-flavored drink that is popular in the United States.

This drink brings back lots of cheerful childhood fun memories.

It is so much refreshing and satisfying.

This sweet drink comes in an easy-to-open bottle.

You can consume it easily in one go.

But what if you want to refrigerate it and consume it later?

Does Yoohoo need to be refrigerated?

The simple answer is -No, Yoohoo doesn’t need to be refrigerated.

It’s just similar to a soda in a can (only not carbonated). It tastes better cold, though.

But once it is opened, it needs to be refrigerated.

Let’s dive into detail.

What is Yoohoo?

Yoo-hoo is an American brand of chocolate-flavored drink developed by Natale Olivier in Garfield, New Jersey.

This drink is primarily made from water, high fructose, and corn syrup.

It is a low-fat drink that has a thinner consistency than milk based chocolate drinks.

This drink smells quite chocolaty. 

However, the chocolaty aroma is not as strong as the actual taste. 

The color of this beverage is dark and deep brown like medium-strength dairy-based chocolate milk.

What is Yoohoo Made Up of?

Yoo-hoo is a refreshing sweet chocolaty drink that brings you back childhood memories.

It is primarily made from water.

This drink is made from water, high fructose corn syrup, and whey (from milk).

It contains less than 2% of:

 Cocoa (alkali process), nonfat dry milk, some natural and artificial flavors, sodium caseinate (from milk), corn syrup solids, salt, spices, palm oil, guar gum, xanthan gum, sucralose, soy lecithin, Momo, and diglycerides.

For keeping the bottle of Yoo-hoo shelf-stable when sealed, the drink also contains stabilizers like calcium phosphate and a nutritional enhancer known as dipotassium phosphate, niacinamide (vitamin b3), vitamin a palmitate, riboflavin (vitamin b2), and Cholecalciferol.

Does Yoohoo Have Milk?

Yoo-hoo drink comes in chocolate and strawberry flavors.

Yoo-hoo is known as a chocolate or strawberry drink and not chocolate milk or strawberry milk as the main ingredient is not milk but water and high fructose corn syrup.

So, its primarily made up of water, not milk.

Hence Yoohoo is chocolate water, not chocolate milk.

Though, this does not mean that Yoo-hoo is dairy-free.

As ingredients mentioned above, you can notice that there are a few dairy ingredients listed.

These ingredients include whey, non-fat dry milk, and sodium caseinate.

It does not contain real milk but contains milk by-products.

But if you’re someone with a milk allergy or lactose intolerance, you should not consume Yoohoo because it contains ingredients such as whey, non-fat dry milk, and sodium caseinate, which are milk derivatives.

Does Yoohoo Need to be Refrigerated?

Are you wondering, that does Yoohoo need to be refrigerated?
The simple answer is -No, Yoohoo doesn’t need to be refrigerated.

Yoohoo is typically sold in a small, shelf-stable bottle that does not need to be refrigerated.  

Yoo-hoo drink does not require refrigeration until you open it. 

But most folks prefer always refrigerating it whether it is open or not. 

Do you know why? 

It tastes much better when it’s close to freezing. 

Most folks hate warm Yoo-hoo.

So, it’s up to you whether to refrigerate or not the unopened/ sealed Yoohoo.

But once it’s opened, Yoo-hoo must be refrigerated, as those natural dairy ingredients do spoil quickly.

You should shake it vigorously before drinking, because the chocolate within swiftly settles to the bottom of the container when left standing for more than minutes.

In a nutshell, you don’t need to refrigerate Yoohoo drink it is opened, but it requires refrigeration after opening the package.

Does Yoohoo Expire?/ How Long Do Yoohoo Last?

Yoo-hoo Chocolate Drink has a long shelf life as there are no real milk products. 

As long as the cans remain, sealed there is no expiration date on this drink.

However, once it is opened, you should consume it within two to four days and refrigerate unused portions during that time.

Yoo-hoo does not have an expiration date.

This drink is pasteurized in the can or bottle, and, as the container remains sealed, it won’t go bad.

Preservatives help to keep the drink shelf-stable but that only works if everything is sealed.
The drink contains stabilizers like calcium phosphate and a nutritional enhancer known as dipotassium phosphate, in addition to niacinamide (vitamin b3), vitamin a palmitate, riboflavin, and vitamin d3 which helps for keeping its shelf life intact.

Is Yoohoo Gluten-Free?

Yes, Yoohoo is a gluten-free drink as it doesn’t contain ingredients derived from wheat, and other gluten-containing cereals. 

Over the years, Yoohoo come up with other delicious flavors, such as strawberry, chocolate strawberry, chocolate caramel, cookies and cream, and vanilla etc.

All Yoohoo flavors are gluten-free as they do not contain any wheat products.

Basically, gluten is a protein naturally found in grains.

There’s no such warning on the label suggesting that Yoohoo and its respective ingredients are processed in a facility that handles gluten.

It means it is safe for people with a gluten allergy. 

Therefore, if you have gluten sensitivity, you can drink any yoo-hoo product.

Where to Buy Yoohoo Drink?

You can find Yoohoo drink at your nearest small grocery store or supermarket.

For getting Yoohoo, you should look for this beverage in the bright yellow bottle with the blue letters, and the white and yellow cap on top.

You can find Yoohoo in the refrigerated drinks section or else in the non-refrigerated soda pop section at your large or small grocery store.

You can also get this drink at your convenience at home if you buy from an online store like Amazon.

Related Questions

Is Yoohoo vegan?

No, Yoohoo is not vegan as it contains dairy ingredients such as whey, non-fat dry milk, and sodium caseinate

So, Yoohoo is not suitable for vegans.

However, if you’re a vegetarian, then you can probably consume Yoohoo as most vegetarians consume dairy unless there is some sort of allergy or intolerance.

Is Yoo-hoo Bad For You?

Everyone has different priorities in their diet.

Yoo-hoos are not the healthiest breakfast beverage option in the market as it is fully loaded with sugar and artificial ingredients.

Consuming a lot of sugar in your diet can lead to the risk of obesity and diabetes.

Does Yoohoo have caffeine?

The caffeine content in Yoo-Hoo Drink is 0.00 mg per 8.00 fl. oz box.

It means the Yoo-Hoo Chocolate Drink is caffeine free.


Related Articles:

Does Grenadine Need To Be Refrigerated?

Does Jello Pudding Need to be Refrigerated?

Does Calpico Need to be Refrigerated?